top of page
  • newstonnewspaper

The importance of reading

Reading is the best way to obtain knowledge, and this makes it one of the most useful skills a person can acquire. Each book you read, of any type, is an opportunity to learn new things and explore different ideas. It brings countless advantages for everyone because the benefits are useful every single day of our lives.


Books make us much more cultured since they provide infinite information about any topic of which we can think. When reading, we are exposed to new words, which allow for more complex thinking skills. Additionally, reading gives us the facility to present and explain our thoughts, enhancing our capacity of observation, attention, and concentration.


Although I believe that the abilities we get from reading are tremendously important, for me, it is much more than gaining knowledge. The first time I read a book for pleasure was last year and that was when I realized that there was a new world for me to explore. I discovered how reading can bring out feelings I never knew I had and emotions I hadn't ever had in real life. It became a source of joy, an escape from everything, and everyone to become part of incredible adventures or love stories, living hundreds of different lives.


By reading, we paint pictures of the story in our minds; that's why I feel that books are so magical, because they can take us anywhere we want to go, expanding our imagination by being exposed to so many wonderful things. I know that all I've got from books will stay with me forever: every new thing I have learned, my new ideas and vocabulary, but more importantly, every book I have read has become a part of me, helping form my personality and create who I am now.


86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page